CAHUILLA / AGUA CALIENTE LEADERSHIP TIMELINE

This is the 10th in a series of articles celebrating the leadership of the Native people of the Palm Springs region, today known as the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians.

Moment of Creation

Momtakwit is the first net (chief) in Cahuilla history, and Isil (Coyote) serves as first paxaa (assistant)

Immemorial to

Time

1900s

The establishment

of leaders is based

on traditional clans

Juan Bautista de

Anza travels through

Cahuilla traditional

Traditional Tribal

leadership structure

continues and clans

Chief Cabezón serves

Juan Antonio serves

Captain Andreas

leadership roles

1850s

serves in

in leadership roles

band together

and lineages

1775

territory

1800s

1830s

1840s

Cahuillas sign the Treaty of Temecula; it is never ratified by Congress

1863

1852

Manuel Largo serves in leadership roles

Mid-1860s-1870s Juan Andreas serves in leadership roles

1876 and 1877 Aqua Caliente Indian Reservation established

1884 Gervasio Cabezón serves as chief

Late 1800s United States attempts to impose in leadership roles leadership styles on Cahuilla

> 1890s-1900s Pedro Chino serves in leadership roles

ef Cabezón

1890s-1920s Alejo Patencio and José Rafael serve in leadership roles

Mid-1890s-1930s John Joseph Andreas serves in leadership

roles Early to

Mid-1900s Tribal Committee, or Indian Committee, negotiates landholdings with the U.S. government

1905 Marcus Belardo serves as captain



Pedro Chino

1923 Pedro Chino serves as captain of Cahuilla

1924 U.S. grants citizenship to American Indians

1925 Francisco Patencio serves as net

1934

Committee

Albert Patencio serves

as captain of the Tribal



COURTESY OF AGUA PATENCIO, LEE AREN

NCIO), (

JSEUM (FRAI

Ωž

AALKI





1937 Willie Marcus serves as Tribal spokesman

Willie Marcus

1938 City of Palm Springs is incorporated

Marcus Pete serves as captain of the Tribal Committee

1939

Willie Marcus serves as chief of the Tribal Council/Committee

Francisco Patencio serves as ceremonial chief



Lee Arenas serves as chairman of the Tribal Committee; Willie Marcus serves as chairman of the Tribal Committee

October 1941

Lee Arenas serves as chairman of the Tribal Committee

December 1941-1942

1940

Willie Marcus serves as chairman of the Tribal Committee

1945 and 1949

Romalda Lugo Taylor serves as chairman of the Tribal Committee

1948

Lorene Welmas serves as chairman of the Tribal Committee

November 1949–January 1952

Francisco Segundo serves as chairman of Indian Tribal Council

1955

Tribal Council is established, with five elected members, including a chairman, to oversee government affairs and economic ventures

1955-1958

Vyola J. Ortner serves as Tribal Chairman

1959-1965

Eileen Miguel serves as Tribal Chairman



March 22,1966-Aug. 2, 1966 Edmund Peter Siva serves as Tribal Chairman

1966-1967 Dora Joyce Prieto serves as Tribal



1968-1969 Joseph Patrick Patencio serves as Tribal Chairman

Larry N. Olinger serves as Tribal Chairman



1972-1981 Ray L. Patencio serves as Tribal Chairman



Ray L. Patencio

1982-1983 Barbara M. Gonzales

serves as Tribal Chairman



1984-2012 Richard M. Milanovich serves as Tribal Chairman



2012-present Jeff L. Grubbe serves as Tribal Chairman

